Poem : We Lost The Road

Poem : We Lost The Road

losthteroad

We lost the road
But I’m still on the same broken path.
I remember your smile
And the punch of the aftermath.
It’s a guitar sound
It’s a drum
It’s a younger man being dumb.
Invincible feeling
Everything sparking up.
Fireworks – put out,
Feelings, coloured to black and white.
Walk past your house today
Like a shrine, untouchable.
A writer cannot lie to himself
I miss those moments
The warmth of your closer skin.
Now I hide under eyeliner and neon club lights
Never catching another girl’s eye
For fear of falling again.
I’m books and films and songs and paintings,
I’m yesterday but still tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

