Poem : Missing The Girl

Poem : Missing The Girl

lovelve

Skipping home like Mary Poppins on acid,
Waiting to see her again after a week apart.
It has been hard for my heart
And so I bought flowers and chocolates
All the cliches for my love.
I open the front door silently,
To make my way to her arms.
Surprised to find her missing,
All that is there is a note stuck to the fridge with a dinosaur magnet.
Two words, ‘It’s Over,’
Scrawled in her delicate handwriting.
The wine smashes loudly on the kitchen floor
And I fall like a skittle,
One of life’s spares, alone.

Leave a Reply

