Poem : Really Black Coffee (Wake Up)

Poem : Really Black Coffee (Wake Up)

really

“Ok, it’s a joke…”, you say
Looking at me like a killer.
Before I can respond
You’ve stirred your coffee hard into black inky nothingness.
You stare up at me with horror and alarm,
Such venom from such beauty.
I try to speak
But I am instantly muted
By a hand up and a glare that cuts.
“I guess it’s over is what I am trying to say”

Nothing from my mouth,
All from my heart.
I sip my drink and shatter.

Leave a Reply

