Poem : One Last Missive

Poem : One Last Missive

shesaid

She said “I don’t wanna hear from you
Go out and find someone new
But don’t tell me about it,
No texts, mails or detailed letters.
I’m forgetting about you
Putting on a brave face
But it can turn to a snarl if you disrespect what we had.
You’re too gentle to be a cad
But too strange to be a catch
I guess I knew all along
I would jump when another came by
Impressed with my charms
Took me in his arms
And as the room blurred I left everything me and you had built up
And it cracked in two
Like an antique teapot
Lost to the roadshow.
Don’t be lost to the roadshow, my shy former love.
There are plenty of fish in the sea
Just don’t go looking for another like me.”

Leave a Reply

