R.I.P. George A. Romero :

R.I.P. George A. Romero :

romero

Horror cinema is an emptier place today thanks to the death of one of its greatest icons, George A. Romero. All those zombie things you love? Thank Romero. His trilogy of Night Of The Living Dead/Dawn Of The Dead and Day Of The Dead introduced ALL of the things that series/comics like The Walking Dead took on and unlike many, still hold up today.
I wrote a massive feature on Romero for a Zombies special magazine last year and researching that, it was easy to see the influence that those three films had on the horror genre right up to the present day.
My favourite Romero memory was when I ventured to London and was in the horror section of Oxford Street’s HMV when I noticed a massive group of people queuing up armed with videos and DVDs and books. I wondered who was signing and just then George A Romero came out from the back and you could have knocked me down with a feather! I smiled across at him and he gave me a nod and a warm smile and that is one of those moments as a massive movie fan that I will never forget.
Go get yourself a copy of Night Of The Living Dead and raise a glass to a true original. Rest In Peace, Mister Romero and thank you for the nightmares!

Leave a Reply

