Poem – Dead Pancreas People And The Curse Of The Sun :

People celebrating the sun
It is all cool I am not throwing shade on that
Figuratively or literally
It’s just different for us dead pancreas people.
As the heat expands
So do our blood sugar levels.
Or maybe they will drop unexpectedly
Again, it is a die throw
Like much of our diabetic lives.
Those blood sugar meters that stick to our skin so happily all year?
When the C’s expand, the stickiness ends
And it slips off like so much melted ice cream.
I’m having to stick a slew of medical tape over it
But even that likes to betray me.
I first learned this, let’s say, thirteen months ago
An evening with a beautiful girl
An electrified night, spinning and swirling.
My meter just said ‘So long!’
But it is less fun when it is just the sun doing it.
Check on your type one friend
And pick up their meter if you find one lost
It might also pick up their spirits.

Leave a Reply