Art Brut! CD Boxset! Vinyl Compilation! Top Of The Pops!

I first met Art Brut on the day they did an infamous photoshoot with the new crew of ‘00s popsters outside Buckingham Palace, for the NME. We rocked up at producer Keith TOTP’s house where we recorded the exclusive track I Got Shit Thrown At Me By Selfish Cvnt, I say we as I was playing percussion on a pack of salt n vinegar Pringles.Yes. Somewhere this demo exists. Many parties and superboozing nights (and days) followed and I can barely listen to the classic Bang Bang Rock And Roll without feeling a little blurry (and Blur-ry, obvs). Amazing times, amazing people and also fucking great tunes. Sometimes you get one of these but getting the set is a rarity. Speaking of sets (segue! THANK YOU), the mighty Brut are about to release their first box set (there is another one coming…Yup), the brilliantly titled And Yes, This Is My Singing Voice! Takes us back to the early days of the band, that dizzying debut, the equally sparktastic follow up It’s A Bit Complicated and a whole host of unreleased live goodies from the ULU show complete with horns to a 2006 Paris gig that starts with Formed A Band, My Little Brother and These Animal Menswe@r, which is a monster opening to any set.

Add b-sides, demos and my very favourite Top Of The Pops and you have an essential collection of brilliant brilliant pop.

Get it on July 5th, a just-after-Independence-Day treat. The same day also sees a coloured double vinyl Best Of collection equally brilliantly titled – A Record Collection, Reduced To A Mixtape. Buy both from the website and get an Art Brutal discount. Go on, you deserve it. You’ll thank me later.

Leave a Reply