Cherry Red Announce Shampoo Megabox!!!

I fcking love Cherry Red Records. Sometimes they release things and I think “Is anyone interested in this…?” But then the next month they announce a Kendallrock collection like this and I am raising a glass to their existence and brilliance.

Sometimes people say to me “I bet you liked Shampoo didn’t you? One song and gone…” Aaaand then they havre to listen to me telling the complete history of Jacqui and Carrie, from my favourite early single Bouffant Headbutt (“When we get you outside, you’re fucking dead!”) to them appearing on the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers movie soundtrack. Add the great covers of Top Of The Pops and I Know What Boys Like and them soundtracking one of my fave video games ever Spin Jam (I went to the office to see the game and get an early play for the first review, my quotes were on the advertising and when I was waiting to go in, Jacqui and Carrie were sat there in the waiting room reading teen magazines and looking like the biggest stars I ever saw. I did not say hello, my only experience of being starstruck, having met Brian Wilson, Amy Winehouse, The Monkees, Manic Street Preachers, Blur and maaaaany more but these two genuinely seemed like they might just sneer at me and leave me dead. I should have taken that deal, oh boy ❤ )

So now instead of listening to me rattle on (but I will be doing that even more when this collection launches), you can listen to the actual songs as Cherry Red announce that Complete Shampoo will be touching down in a delicious 3CD and DVD package on June 28th.
The box includes the three albums, We Are Shampoo, Girl Power and Absolute Shampoo, plus all the a-sides and b-sides, including those rare early singles before Trouble smashed through the mainstream. Seven tracks never released in the UK and another making its CD debut. Add a 28 page booklet, a recent interview with the girls and plenty of unseen photos and you have a bubblegum pop treat that I cannot wait to dive into.

Tracklistings and more information at the Cherry Red link below! Viva! La! Megababes!

https://www.cherryred.co.uk/shampoo-complete-shampoo-3cd-1dvd-box-set

Leave a Reply